Thursday, October 20, 2011

Internship hall of fame to induct five

Five people, including four Springfield residents, are being inducted into the Samuel K. Gove Illinois Legislative Internship Hall of Fame at a Nov. 7 reception at the Executive Mansion.

The honorees, all former interns, are David Kennedy, Bruce Kinnett, Michael Maibach, Catherine Shannon and Frank Straus.

Illinois Issues magazine is sponsor of the Hall of Fame, which is named for the late Sam Gove, a founder of the magazine and longtime director of the internship program, which began in 1961.

The Nov. 7 event at the Executive Mansion will begin at 5:15 p.m., with the induction ceremony at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are $65 and reservations are required by Friday. Information is available at 206-6084, and tickets can be purchased online at

The hall of fame was featured in an October 20, 2011, article in The State Journal-Register.

Read the article online