Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Seven to receive state's highest award, The Order of Lincoln

As the Land of Lincoln celebrates the 203rd birthday of Abraham Lincoln, Governor Pat Quinn announced seven distinguished Illinoisans who will receive The Order of Lincoln, the state’s highest award.

The Order of Lincoln Medallion will be presented by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois officials at a special ceremony Saturday, April 21 at the Illinois State Capitol in Springfield.

The 2012 Laureates include:

Dr. Naomi Burgos Lynn served as the President of Sangamon State University in Springfield beginning in 1991 and through its reorganization into the University of Illinois Springfield. She was the first Hispanic woman president of an American public university. Lynn has published extensively in the fields of political science and public administration, and she has served as President of the American Society for Public Administration, the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science. She retired as the first Chancellor of the University of Illinois Springfield in 2001.

Dr. Lynn was featured in an February 21, 2012 Gatehouse News Service article.

Read the article online