Friday, June 15, 2012

Awards: GLVC honors 6 Prairie Stars

Six University of Illinois Springfield athletes representing five sports have received the Great Lakes Valley Conference Council of Presidents’ Academic Excellence Award.

The Prairie Stars’ Angie Augspols (softball), Bailey Beale (women’s basketball), Tyler McKay (baseball), Mark Klinger (men’s golf), Scott Mauer (men’s tennis) and Matt McGowan (men’s tennis) were among 203 student-athletes who earned the honor.

Award winners must have competed in the GLVC for a minimum of two years, earned 96 credit hours, completed their eligibility and maintained at least a 3.5 grade-point average throughout their academic career.

The awards were featured in a June 15, 2012, article in the State Journal-Register.

Read the article online