Thursday, June 18, 2015

UIS announces second Athletic Hall of Fame class

The University of Illinois Springfield’s second class of inductees for the Prairie Star Athletic Hall of Fame includes Dorothy Walsh-Ripka, Dominic Giacomini, Rick Wiegand, the 1988 National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics national champion men’s soccer team and Naomi Lynn and Bob Lynn.

The Hall of Fame induction is Oct. 17. The time and location will be announced later. An advisory committee of community members, UIS alumni, staff, faculty, athletic coaches and players choose the inductees.

The story was reported by The State Journal-Register on June 17, 2015.

Read the full article online